Direktlänk till inlägg 4 augusti 2010

Nu är jag arg

Av Sven O. Sjöstedt - 4 augusti 2010 17:19

Jag hade skrivit ett av mina bästa inlägg och nu är det borta och jag har inte tid att skriva om det just nu. Får se om jag får tid i eftermiddag.Jag vill i alla fall på detta sätt meddela att jag lever och tänker på er.Ha det så bra tills vi hörs.

 
 
Ingen bild

Erik

5 augusti 2010 11:57

Hi Sven,

You are wasting your time. Why get angry? Think of your blood pressure and also, three years from now you will tell this story with a smile on your face.

But I know what you are talking about. Our house was hit by lightning some eight weeks ago. It killed the mother board in my computer, external drive, the modem, the UPS (which the salesman told would protect me against this, my fax, my telephones and the motor that operates the garage door, my fridge/freezer, it cooked my telephone cable and a few more things.

After that my broad band was extremely unreliable. I could be on for two minutes and off for fifteen. I called the broad band operator SAPO, which is a subdivision of Portugal Telecommunication (PT). They told me that I had a problem with the line. I called PT and they told me that I had a problem with my modem for which SAPO is responsible. We have had a eight week table tennis match where I acted as the ball and the players were SAPO and PT.

Then a friend of mine gave me a tip. Order a new telephone line to your house and you will be all right. The law in Portugal is that every telephone line now installed must also be a broad band.

Yesterday I got my new telephone line, and we are talking about a mile and a half or thereabout to the nearest telephone station. They also brought a new modem and a new telephone. They installed the software, tested it and that was it. I am all right now for a cost of €15.00.
And what did I do during the last eight weeks when my broadband connection, or lack of the same, started to irritate me? I took a glass of red and a chunk of cheese, and seated myself on the decking under the grapes that, not only gives me shade, but also this time of the year allows me to stretch out my hand for a bunch of lovely grapes. Who cares if the Email goes now or in an hour. Even if it took two hours to send it it was a darn lot faster than we relied on, what we today call snail mail.

Which reminds me that it is time for my midday bite. And a drop or two of the red.

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Sven O. Sjöstedt - Tisdag 26 mars 21:58


    English below Swedish. AMERIKABREVET Kapitel 12. Livet är som en påse.   Livet är som en påse, tomt och innehållslöst om man inte fyller det med någonting.   Min påse har varit överfull och så tung att jag inte vågat lyfta den i ha...

Av Sven O. Sjöstedt - Lördag 16 mars 17:07

    Steget in i dataåldern, När jag tog klivet över Atlanten tog jag också steget in i dataåldern. I Sverige levde jag från 1945 till 1983 utan datorer. Under min yrkesverksamma tid var det mest avancerade hjälpmedlet jag hade på mitt skrivbor...

Av Sven O. Sjöstedt - Måndag 11 mars 16:03


    English below Swedish. AMERIKABREVET Kapitel 10. Vad blev det av "Amerikabrevet"?   Ja, det kan man fråga sig. Jag hade tänkt mig den här som en serie brev skrivna av en svensk invandrare till Minnesota. Men som en gammal järnvägare sk...

Av Sven O. Sjöstedt - Måndag 4 mars 17:27

English after Swedish       I dag blevjag påmind om min tid när jag under några år i slutet av 1960-talet hade postadressen "Järnvägen Bergsbrunna". Bergsbrunna är ett samhälle som ligger söder om Uppsala vid dubbelspåret till Stockholm. Jag...

Av Sven O. Sjöstedt - Tisdag 27 feb 17:08


    English below Swedish. AMERIKABREVET Kapitel 8. Att ha ingenting att skriva.   Jag hade en gång en lärare som alltid hade slående kommentarer. På tal om slående, så var han släggkastare också och gick bland oss elever under namnet "Sl...

Presentation

Gästbok

Fråga mig

13 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
           
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Augusti 2010 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

Länkar

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards